Running Vista Will More Ram Help?

Acer-1 20:05 22 Jul 2007

Hi have not posted on here for a while. Basically i decided to buy a laptop only a cheap one for browsing internet and a bit of photo editing as i am a amateur photographer.

So i brought the Acer 5050 from Ebuyer.com for £299.99 and its nice i like it however it runs a little slow for my liking probably because of Vista.

Now i don't really want to start mucking about changing operating systems so i was just wondering about some things i could try to make it run faster the most obvious thing is improving the ram as it only came with 512mb DDR2 so i was thinking if i put 1GB or maybe even 2GB in the second slot then it would have 1.5/2.5 would that do the trick ?.

Also it came preinstalled with Norton Anti-Virus trial i have heared bad things about this and the fact it might also be helping my lappy run slower so was wondering if anyone can suggest some alternative Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware software instead.

One last thing alot of people have been saying they have upgraded the ram themselves is there a website that shows u where to put ram in my laptop?.

Cheers

Probabilitydrive 20:28 22 Jul 2007

scon your system here for memory upgrades click here
this is a current thread of the RAM issue click here

Probabilitydrive 20:28 22 Jul 2007

scon=scan

skidzy 20:33 22 Jul 2007

If you have Vista HP 512MB is no where near enough especially if you have the Aero feature enabled.

2GB is recommended and you would then see a great improvement,however check your manual to how much more your motherboard will actually take.

Removing Norton will certainly help also,but do use the removal tool.
Norton removal tool click here

For further advice of security and looking after the machine click here

Totally-braindead 20:39 22 Jul 2007

Buy from Crucial as linked to above, don't buy cheap RAM its a waste of time. Vista is really RAM hungry and you need at least 1 mb better still 2 mb.