replacing harddrive and os

gomez554 20:46 23 Jul 2010

Hi everyone,

My dell inspiron 6400 of 5 glorious years just gave the "DTS short test failure" on the diagnostics screen (dead hard drive) just wondering if anyone can answer a few simple questions for me:

1: Can I put a new higher speed and memory (dell) drive into the laptop without causing any more problems, the original was 5400rpm 80gb, the new drive I’m considering buying is 7200rpm and 320gb

2: After I put in the new drive, can I install a brand new copy of Microsoft xp (cause the laptop only came with a recovery disk, which i've lost)

Note: The company I’m buying the hard drive says its full compatible with my old inspiron and they offer a 30 day money back guarantee, i'm more concerned with installing the new operating system.

To be honest i've never done this before and i could just use some reassurance that i'm not going to wreck any chance of getting the inspiron back. It was working perfectly up to the hard drive crash and i just can’t afford a new laptop right now....please help. thx

Dark Mantis 21:16 23 Jul 2010

The only problem you might face with your new hard drive is that it will run hotter than the original and in a laptop that can be bad.
The installling a new OS shopuldn't be any real problem the worst that can really happen is that you will find trouble getting some of the drivers.

rdave13 21:21 23 Jul 2010

The hard drive should be ok. If not the 30 day guarantee is ample.
This is the way I would do it, considering that your Dell will now be a 'normal' Laptop without all the bumf that comes with such companies.
Install your XP retail disc. When it asks to reformat the drive before insalling then I would.
Install XP. You will now have only the generic drivers but you should be able to connect to the internet via an ethernet cable. First job is to install a free antivirus. Avast 5 is my choice; unbeatable.
Now you will have XP's firewall and an antivirus.