Reminder Before Switching Off

NotSureBoutThis 13:14 18 Nov 2006

Hi

I have BB, and when we have finished on the computer I unplug the cable from the modem, however, is there any way I can put a reminder on my computer.

What I want to do is, when I click on > start > switch off, I get a pop up or something like that to remind me to unplug the cacle from the modem?

NotSureBoutThis 13:26 18 Nov 2006

Sorry, I should have posted this within the absolute beginners forum

Stuartli 13:32 18 Nov 2006

I never unplug my modem router cable - in fact it's on permanently even when the system is switched off.

birdface 13:36 18 Nov 2006

I keep mine on all the time.If you want to turn it off, Why dont you just turn it of at the switch,Only liable to cause problems later the way you do it.

Forum Editor 13:36 18 Nov 2006

Which means you're connected for long periods on the same IP address - there's a security risk. far better to unplug/switch off modems and/or routers. Quite apart from the safety risks there's an energy consumption implicaton.

Simsy 13:37 18 Nov 2006

it's easy to have an audio file play as you close down.

I recorded a message saying, "Don't forget to turn of the speakers, monitor... etc", and this is played as part of the windows shutdown process.

Obviously, on the face of it, you need a microphone to be able to record it...

But it can be done if you have a "readback" feature in any programmes. Adobe acrobate reader does, (but you have to be able to create a pdf with the message)...

To change the closedown audio from the default windows "jingle"...

Control Panel>Sound Speech and Audio Devices>Change the sound scheme In the dialogue that appears click the "sounds" tab. In the "Programme events" box select and highlight "Exit Windows" and browse to your saved audio file.

Hope this helps,

Regards,

Simsy

Diemmess 13:40 18 Nov 2006

........unless you are concerned about power surges or lightning damage - pull the landline connection