recovery using Acronis

Ray5776 21:28 10 Mar 2007

not a good day, seem to have lost a lot of data.
I did a full backup to a removable 80gb hard drive using Acronis (this is a paid for genuine one)
I want to copy the whole of the backup back onto my c drive. I thought this was the whole idea of Acronis.
When I try to recover my data from using Acronis my D drIive I only get 2 options back or cancel.
I think that if I chose something it will work but I want restore the WHOLE drive is this not the point of having a backup.

ray

woodchip 21:32 10 Mar 2007

Do you have the Acronis CD?

woodchip 21:38 10 Mar 2007

If you have the Acronis CD try starting the computer with the Drive Connected and the CD in the drive. Then after it loads Acronis to memory choose Recover.You then brows to the Image on the drive

cyclingchef 21:40 10 Mar 2007

Ray, I use Acronis True Image 9 to create backup images of my partitions. Now I am no expert on this powerful program but I KNOW that backing up to external drives is very much hit and miss.
There is much evidence of this on the net !
I have my hdd split into C/D/E and I use E as the backup folder for C/D. Now I know if you totally lose your hard drive you lose the lot so periodically I also save C/D partitions to DVD+R
I guess this reply is not really a lot of help ?
Roy

woodchip 21:43 10 Mar 2007

If the Image is on a External USB Drive, it as to be on the first Partition on the drive as Acronis will not see the other partitions.

Ray5776 13:18 11 Mar 2007

The drive that contains the backup data is a standard EIDE drive in a caddy.
I do have the Acronis CD but all it did was say "Acronis loading please wait" I went out for 3hours and the message remained on my return.

woodchip 15:05 11 Mar 2007