1 & 2 - yes it *should* be straightforward. Be aware that in the process of reverting to factory settings it will delete all your added programs, documents, e-mails, favorites etc. etc.
3 - if you mean where is the information that it uses to restore? - it is on a hidden partition on your hard drive.