Real player problems

tonyx1302 21:21 23 Apr 2006

I have just installed R/Player to watch a missed episode of The Apprentice on the BBC website.

It connects and loads ok but after watching for a minute or two the connection drops and I am told the it is 'communicating' and reloads to 100%. It runs again for short while only to happen again shortly

I am very new to media players and wonder if I am doing something wrong or that I have the right hardware installed to veiw a full progame via the Internet

XP with B/B via a newly installed router which is all new to me

Tony

Diodorus Siculus 21:33 23 Apr 2006

Could be that the site is over loaded - often if you try later such communication problems are sorted out.

As a preference to Real Player, I use Real Alternative and rarely get problems; google will find RA for you.

skidzy 21:34 23 Apr 2006

Hi Breitling...have you tried quicktime click here
Or try this for a different version of Real player,you may need to uninstall your current version. click here

anskyber 21:41 23 Apr 2006

Real Alternatve, I use it. click here

tonyx1302 22:09 23 Apr 2006

Thanks everyone. I will try all suggestions and report back tomorrow

Tony

tonyx1302 22:23 23 Apr 2006

I have deleted Real player and installed Real Alterative as recommended but everything still opens up in Real Player. How do I make R/Alternative my default media player please ?

Tony

george 22:35 23 Apr 2006

Hi,

If you have truly deleted Real Player the the alternative is playing the media. RPA also does not have all that tracking software attached to it.
You can also try Quicktime alternative as well, another excellent prog that does not try to load evey 2 mins.
Cheers,

George.

tonyx1302 22:40 23 Apr 2006

I have just tried to run The Apprentice again using R/Alt but I cannot get it to open .I have ticked all the right boxes to make R/Alternative the default but it is not reconised. I think I have deleted everything related to RealPlayer

Tony