reading javascript/cascading sheet document

nobbyhigo 22:52 12 Nov 2014

i saved some files i thought would open as per normal then found they were as above I am a bit of a novice on this Could you recommend a simple way of opening them so i can read and just print off thanks

LastChip 03:43 13 Nov 2014

First I should warn you, if you're not sure why you received these files or what they are, they could malicious. Be careful!

That said, if you were expecting them and want to read them, any text editor should enable you to do that. If you're using Windows, something like Notepad.

Batch 09:12 13 Nov 2014

Out of interest, why would you be wanting to open such files (given, as you say, " I am a bit of a novice on this") ?

nobbyhigo 09:31 13 Nov 2014

OK i saved a page from a social media site that might be needed you understand I saved it on my laptop as a web page and didnt realise it wouldnt read I just need to see the web page so i can print it off

Batch 09:42 13 Nov 2014

Javascript (.js) and Cascading Style Sheets (.css) won't contain any meaningful information as such.

If you saved the webpage it would typically be saved as WEBPAGENAME.html (where WEBPAGENAME is whatever you choose to save it as) with a subfolder (called WEBPAGENAME files) at the same location with various components (such as .js, .css, .jpg etc). Alternatively, if you are using Internet Explorer it is possible to save the whole web page as a single file with a .mhtml extension.

Clicking on the .html (or .mhtml) should open the saved copy. However, you should be aware that it is not a perfect process. In addition you cannot (successfully) save secure web pages (i.e. where the web address starts with https:// rather than http:// ) because that would compromise the very security that they provide.

nobbyhigo 10:01 13 Nov 2014