Re-installation advice please

JOHN232 11:34 31 Oct 2010

I've got a 12months old desktop, Acer Aspire AX1300. It was pre loaded with Vista Home Premium. No disk available either from MS or my own back-up. Product key is on the pc.

It has crashed on me big style, intially kept taking me to the 'crash dump screen'. Followed advice and tried a factory restore. Kept on getting as far as 10% and then appeared to get stuck. Eventually got a message 'restore failed - reason 0xd000000d' click ok to start computer'.

Please bear with me because I'm not very experienced with pc's. I need advice on a few issues.

1. I'm presuming that the only option now is to re-install. Can I re-install vista by obtaining another disk or is the problem that I've encountered likely to reoccur when I reinstall?

2.Is re-installing vista something that I, as a relative novice, could carry out?

3.If re-installing is the answer, then where would be the best place to get the disk from and what exactly do I need. I'm sure that I've read on here somewhere that you can buy a back-up disk to use with the product key that is on my computer. Hope that makes sense. I am hoping to do it on the cheap!!

onthelimit 11:44 31 Oct 2010

You can reinstall using another Vista disc. Either borrow one or get one from ebay.

Installing it is easy - the only slightly tricky aspect is getting the correct drivers for the laptop. Windows will have its own for many of the items, but you may have to do a bit of searching for things like the built-in camera (if it has one). Manufacturers websites can usually help. Once the laptop is running again and has internet access, a program like SIW will help determine what hardware is installed.

JOHN232 11:50 31 Oct 2010

I've seen a few items described as follows on ebay....'Windows Boot Disk PC Laptop Repair Recovery CD XP Vista'. Is that the sort of thing I'm looking for?

GaT7 11:57 31 Oct 2010