Quicken Replacement ?

Blott 16:38 21 Apr 2008

I have been using "Quicken" for nine years now. Very good prog but I understand that it is no longer supported and also that it will not run with "Vista" (what will, ?).

So am looking for a replacement. Must be able to import my present Quicken database. Major investment portfolios, forecast of capital gains, flight bookings to off shore tax havens etc not needed - just normal home accounting.

Have heard "MS Money " would be good.

Any comments please ?

Regards to all
Blott

pj123 16:49 21 Apr 2008

Moneybox 32 is free.

I have been using this for some time now and I have successfully imported my Quicken files.

click here

David4637 20:14 21 Apr 2008

I thought some people had managed to install some earlier versions of Quicken on Vista?
There was a thread on this subject many months ago? David

grumpy-git 21:29 21 Apr 2008

Quicken 2001 works on my Vista laptop, no probs installing or running it.

brambles 21:35 21 Apr 2008

Blott - there was a lot of discussion about this. From my own experience I am running Quicken 2001 on Vista without any problem. You are correct there is no longer any support on this.
I took the precaution of buying Microsoft Money - but even this is no longer supported by Microsoft
- I think Money 2006 was the latest.

Anyway I bought Money 2004 - just in case and it does succesfully convert all Quicken files & imports them into Money.

I'm running both it's not difficult but do try your Quicken on Vista

Brambles

David4637 16:37 22 Apr 2008

I have Quicken 2002, can you tell me whether it will run on Vista? I currently have XP, so it would be useful to know. Thanks David

iscanut 17:02 22 Apr 2008