A question about programming languages

random-fish 00:38 24 Jun 2009

hi,

a ittle info first. i am a writer who doesn't really know that much about computers but i am interested.

for the continuation of my current piece i need to know if it is theorically possible for an individual to create a complete programming language.

thank you very much
Andy

Monument 07:59 24 Jun 2009

Both C and C++ were developed by individuals; Dennis Ritchie and Bjarne Stroustrup respectively.

Rigga 08:41 24 Jun 2009

Well it all depends on what you are really asking. Computers do not run C or C++ code or VB or any other type of readable programming language code.

Computers all run machine code. > click here <

People write compilers that take the readable programming language code, whatever that is, and compile it into machine code.

It is very possible to create your own programming language, all you really need to understand is how to compile whatever is in the readable form into machine code that the computer can understand.

(I say "all you really need to understand" it is a very complex task, but is very possible.)

You could write a compiler that took "coded" code, by that I mean the readable text could be something that only you understood; to others it could be complete gibberish.

However once compiled it could be understood by anyone that understands machine code, it is fairly easy to take any compiled executable and examine the machine code within.

HTH. R.

random-fish 00:05 25 Jun 2009

thanks guys that has helped a lot.

havencroft 13:19 25 Jun 2009