Query: Remote Access via a technician........

julius44 13:51 18 Nov 2010

Hello and good afternoon, to u all. This is scenario that happened to me today for the first time, and I just want peoples opinions about this. Okay I have had by windows XP desktop since Jan 06..so coming up to nearly 6 years now, most times if i have problems i come onto this forum and I get help from experienced people, and I also help others through the knowledge that ive gained on here, and many thanks to you all for this.

I have system mechanic installed on my desktop pc, as ive been using it for about 4 years now, as i get a 50% discount when i extend it, and i'm now covered till july 2012. I had a problem with a particular feature in it for the first time ever when i upgraded to System mechanic 10(when it was scanning for registry fragmentation problems, it would get to 10% and just freeze up), so i uninstalled it.
I decided to re-install it later, but problem persisted, then i got an email asking me to call the freefone number 0800-032-5912.

I rang the number this morning and got through to a technician, who told me that he'd need to remote access. He did this and went through various steps with me, and he uninstalled it and then re-installed it,.....so far so good.

Which brings me to my MAIN point...it was very strange for me seeing someone being able to access my desktop pc from the other side of the world...and HOW do i know that he cannot access my pc again??? I do realise that he disconnected the access once the issue was resolved....and ive deleted the log me in icon that was on my desktop,
How can i be sure that nothing was installed by the technician remotely?? for instance when i'm doing online banking, purchases, etc?? I do have Kaspersky 2011 and ive scanned my pc, i also have malware-bytes as well
Or am i just being a bit paranoid and over-reacting???
pls advice.
regards
Jules

Nontek 13:57 18 Nov 2010