Producing a software DVD

sean-278262 15:13 08 May 2008

Hi everyone. I have been compiling a folder of software for about 4 years now. Basically when I need a program I save it to a folder in sections dedicated to various areas of computing. Basically I am like click here as I find it comes in handy when I go to friends and family to fix their computers that it saves time and also makes life a bit easier.

I would like to make the DVD more professional with a point and click interface (similar to the PCA DVDs) to make it easy to leave a copy with people that then they can browse and install software I know to be safe to use instead of the windows explorer way where people tend to get confused when they are computer novices.

Of course I want it to be as simple as possible as I add new programs as I come across them so want it to be easy to add new items to the disks and with 8.7Gb of software collected so far the easier it is to manage the happier I will be.

Cheers for any suggestions and taking the time to read this. I hope everyone else is having as good a day as I am, as it is wonderful outside today.

A

Stuartli 16:03 08 May 2008

Can't help with the interface, but wonder if software up to four years old is likely to be of any value?

In the examples you provide, the majority are either updated or a new version released on a regular basis.

sean-278262 16:28 08 May 2008

In some cases I end up fixing windows 98 machines (I probably should be breaking them to remove it from the world). In general I have found that I keep as with AVG the latest V8 the last one of the old version and the initial V7 release so have V7 ,7.5 and 8 in AVG's case. Sometimes issues arise and an old version solves it till an updated one comes out.