Processes in Task manager!!

betina 13:30 07 Oct 2006

Betina would appreciate some sound advise regarding the number of processes running in the task manager on her pc!! At the moment i have 60 running and have been informed by a friend this to be quite excessive!!! and that a good running pc is around 20. I am a little confused by this i do admit that i am still learning about ram and gigabytes etc, and still find this abit of a quandry. However when i look at the graphs in task manager they are peaked at the very top. Am i running too many processes and do i have to upgrade my memory??? Another friend informed me that i have plenty memory and plenty space in my drives. Maybe i should stop listening to my friends as other than this my pc is working fine i would appreciate some help guys

Jackcoms 13:50 07 Oct 2006

It depend on a number of factors including how many programs you allow to run at start up and the number of user accounts on the PC.

For example, we have 4 users on this PC.

If only one of us is logged in we have 41 running process.

If all 4 of us are logged in, that jumps to 63.

To disable some background processes go to Start; Run and type msconfig. Click OK. Then have a look under the Startup tab.

This will help you decide which process can safely be disabled or not click here

ade.h 14:04 07 Oct 2006

An XP system with nothing else on it will run at least 20 or so. Mine have around 25, and that's with unnecessary Windows services turned off. That's lower than average.

DieSse 15:11 07 Oct 2006

At this very moment I have 44 processes running - I consider my computer well set up and not running any unnecessary processes. Neither do they impact the performance of the system.

60 sounds higher than normal - but it depends what you wish to be running.

Apart from protection (AV, firewall, etc) and maybe any messenger you like to use - apart from Windows own processes there is very little else that actually needs to be running.