Problems with Ad-Aware SE update and Winzip :-(

Sabi 16:25 13 Jan 2008

Hi everyone :-)

I have a problem with updating the Ad-Aware SE (free edition)!

At the moment the definition file loaded is: SE1R210 27.12.2007 but when I check “for update now” I get “No update components available” !!! However the “status” is ok in green!

I have looked in Lavasoft web site for new update and found SE1R212 07.01.1008, which I saved it on my desktop for download. However when I try to unzip or extract it , I get "Winzip" small window to purchase the product!!

I went to Winzip website for free download and found 3, one of which was for "standard Winzip” When I continued with typing my name, e-mail address etc, I noticed there was a cost for 50 Euro in last vertical column!! So I stopped! I only want to use it for updating Ad-Aware SE and don’t like to pay for it!

Does anyone know how I can get Winzip free? Or how to get the new Ad-Aware SE update?
I am not very technical with computers so please give simple instructions. Thank you :-)

Sabi
PS: I use windows XP, Zone Alarm SS V7, Ad-Aware SE 1.6r1, Window Explorer 6

VoG II 16:31 13 Jan 2008

I don't understand why Windows won't unzip it but try click here

p;3 16:42 13 Jan 2008

a shot in the dark BUT, as support has been withdrawn for Adaware se for platforms on Win 98 and ME ,might beg the question , HAS Lavasoft withdrawn ALL support FOR adaware se?
As you are running XP you may need to consider Adaware 2007

brundle 16:44 13 Jan 2008

Another vote for 7Zip here. Your version of Adaware is out of date, why are you still using it? click here

p;3 16:53 13 Jan 2008

some comments (among many)click here
click here

seems many are dissatisfied with the decision by Lavasoft to withdraw the adaware se product and ,
if I read this right, seems adaware se is 'defunct' now for ALL computers ::((

stylehurst 17:10 13 Jan 2008