Problem setting up wireless connection

PBE 16:51 05 Sep 2006

I've recently bought a Fujitsu laptop and Netgear DG834G router. I get an internet connection fine via fixed LAN, but can't connect to internet wirelessly.

My laptop does recognise the Netgear router and connection is there but I think the problem is that I have an invaild IP address in the laptop. I don't however know how to set up the IP address which currently shows as 0000. there's nothing showing in the 'default gateway' section and nothing happens when I click on repair.

Can anyone help please - its driving me round the bend!

ade.h 17:08 05 Sep 2006

click here

If you want to try manual assignment, disable the DHCP server in the router and the DHCP Client service on every client (obviously, it's all or nothing). Then enter your IPs into the properties of TCP/IP, accessed via the properties of each LAN adapter.

PBE 17:33 05 Sep 2006

Ade- thanks for this. I'm not too tech savvy though. How do I disable the DHCP? I only have one laptop that I'm trying to connect to the router at this time.
Sounds like you might have the solution - but can you take me through it in a little more detail - will be eternally grateful!!

^wave^ 17:43 05 Sep 2006

on the laptop go my network places select network connections then select wireless connection go to properties select tcpip and properties selcect obtain ip address automatically and dns automatically press ok and ok till you get back to my network places. dont havre any security set and see if you can get a connection if you can then set up the security for the wirless connection

ade.h 17:45 05 Sep 2006

The options to obtain the IP and DNS automatically are checked by default.

ade.h 17:52 05 Sep 2006

Enter the router's config first and disable the DHCP server. Do this over a wired link, with your wireless link disabled. Apologies if that is obvious, but I just want to be sure that you do this properly.