Printer problems

vienna1981 17:49 03 Feb 2003

Hi, I am very upset as I have more problems with my printer. I got my first printer an Epson Stylus 580 in 2000, but after about 8 months this printer broke and i was sent a replacement which then broke, I was sent a further 9 replacements all with faults until Epson finally sent my a stylus C40UX. This printer worked fine until now I was printing and after the page had finished printing a received an error message basically saying parts in my printer needed replaced or maintained. I contacted Epson who told me that since my warranty was up they couldn't replace it and it would cost too much to fix and so I should just buy a new printer. However I have lost all faith in Epson and am unsure whether I should purchase a new Epson and take out an extended warranty or go for a different make altogether. I'm a student so I buy comaptible cartridges as i can't afford the real ones, does anyone have any advice, thanks

GANDALF <|:-)> 17:51 03 Feb 2003

You had 10 faulty printers.....?

G

watchful 18:09 03 Feb 2003

I use compatibles (because I can't afford the 'real' ones) with my Epson C20UX and have had good service from Epson so far. I can recommend them.

€dstow 18:15 03 Feb 2003

I am lost for words. Flabbergasted!

I am something of a fan of Epson printers - we have a number of them here - but have NEVER had one go wrong on me. OK, I've worn a couple out through hard work but never had one faulty or break on me, never mind 10.

What are you doing to them to make them behave in this way? What comments do Epson make when you return the "broken" printers to them?

€d

vienna1981 18:26 03 Feb 2003