Printer help

jane eyre 00:04 22 Jan 2003
  jane eyre 00:04 22 Jan 2003

can any one please help me. I am a complete novice and know very little about P.Cs, this belongs to my 10 year old daughter. I want to buy a cheap, basic printer to go with this PC. It must be easy to install and easy to use.She has a Compaq presario 5000 series. no5446EA. gratefull for any info or help any wiz kids out there can give me. many thanks. Lion

VoG™ 00:12 22 Jan 2003

Well here's a selection click here

It really depends on what you want to do - I guess a really cheap prinrer will do for most schoolwork.

It should not matter what PC you have as long as there is a printer socket at the back (which there will be).

NOTE: You normally have to buy a cable as this is not supplied with the printer.

Worf100 00:47 22 Jan 2003

Printers come with two types of cable connections, the newer USB looks like a UK telephone socket whilst the parallel port is about 30 mm long by 7 mm wide with two rows of holes. You should have a parallel port but may also have USB.
If you like paying for an item and taking it away your local ASDA (No I do not work for them !) have two printers on offer, the one I looked at was an EPSON C62 @ £72, they also have a cheaper Lexmark, both good printers.
In the long term its the cost of the ink which gives the true cost of a printer. If you are OK with pre owned try a local second hand computer retailer and you may also get the cables with it (power and printer). I used to use a Cannon 620 printer in which all the four inks came in separate cartridges (my current Epson has one black and one for the three colours so if one runs out I have to exchange the complete cartridge).
Need any more help send me an e-mail
Good Luck

Djohn 01:10 22 Jan 2003

As above, and you will find that Epson do a good range of quality printers C42, C62, C82 etc.