Powerful build on a budget: help please

adopted.son 19:06 03 Jul 2010

Hi all,
I'm a dangerous noob looking into the possibility of a new diy build for my audio/video production projects.
At present this is what I've got: I purchased a custom build about a year ago -in an Apevia game case is a Foxconn 945P7AA with an Intel Core2 Duo with 3gb RAM -not sure whose, but I think it's PC6200 for what it's worth. I'd have to open it up and look to get the specifics. "My Computer" Properties says I'm running at 3GHz. Memory is a 300 gig Maxtor.
What I've done to it:
For sound I installed an older Audigy2 ZS with the "Platinum Pro" interface for my recording. I use Sonar and Magix here and am currently dl-ing a massive 32gig VSTI package for it.
For video I have an ASUS EN6200LE TC1G (1 gig 'turbo-cache').
I use Adobe Premiere, et al, and Magix.
I've added an extra DVD RW so now I have two and a floppy with one full bay to spare. I'm sure I'll soon need an upgrade in the PSU as well...
What I think I want and need coaching on:
I want a more powerful audio/video workstation than what I've got. When I'm working with VST plug-ins across more than a couple of audio tracks, this poor duo core chokes under the strain. Even when I shut down all security. Even with buffers set high. I've even employed "Startup Control Panel 2.8 by Mike Lin" to trim down the fat. This machine is a decent game machine but the more I learn and do in audio production, the less I like its performance. Besides, it takes nearly ten minutes to boot from start-up to full use, but that's a different issue...
To save some cash I guess I could just piece out the MB and CPU as a combo and get a more powerful setup with a quad core and up my RAM to four gigs.
Of course, I'm looking to upgrade the audio card/interface as well -which is no problem -and eventually the grfx, but my main concern is the MB/CPU combo. Any audio heads out there that double as geeks?

MAT ALAN 19:12 03 Jul 2010