Power Supply upgrade on Desktop Dimension 5150

Muxlow 19:12 03 Jun 2008

Hello,
This is my very first post on this site and hope you can help me before I go bald from scratching my head.

I have been given, yes given a Inno 3D 8800GTS Graphics card to upgrade my existing card which is a X600 Radeon ATI card unfortunately for me nothing comes free and have found out that I need to upgrade my Power Supply to use this Awesome (from what I have been told) Graphics card.

To use the 8800 GTS card I need a minimum requirement of 400 watt supply but currently have a lacking 305 watts.

I have tried scouring the web sites to find a good match for the graphics card but am failing in finding one with the correct dimensions to fit my desktops case.

Also does I need a power supply that has a 6 pin PCI Express supplementary power connector??

if there is anything else that I need please tell me as I am pretty new to all this.

??Please help??

sean-278262 01:10 04 Jun 2008

I cannot find any UK sources that I would trust myself for a BTX powersupply. However I will make a few comments along the way and in the process bump this thread for tomorrow morning which should get you an answer.

I would be doubting that your P4 system will benefit from the use of such a powerful graphics card and that your P4 will just lag behind and therefore make very little difference to your overall performance benchmarks. This would also be a bit pointless as most modern games (at which this card is aimed) need a processor with a lot more kick.