Power Supply Issues?

br8nd4n 07:28 17 Mar 2008

Hi,

Firstly I'm not very technically minded, so apologies up front for that, but I hope someone who does know what they're talking about can help.

I have a Legend 2.5 Pentium 4 that has served me well for a few years now. The problem I have is that out of the blue the power on/off button is not starting up the computer. If you pull the main plug out of the wall and fiddle with the fuse before putting it back in the wall the computer does power up and when pressing and holding the power on/of button on the front of the PC when on it does switch off suggetsing its not simply the switch. I have replaced the power lead and fuse to eliminate that problem too. All the cooling fans are spinning fine inside. I haven't upgraded any hardwear and the cover hasn't been off the unit recently so I don't think anything has been unseated inside or wires come loose.

Any suggestions? All help would be grately appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Gongoozler 07:51 17 Mar 2008

You say that the fans are spinning. Is this when the computer fails to start or only when it has started correctly?

The computer starting up involves the power on/off switch, the motherboard and the power supply. You have eliminated the switch, so that leaves the other two. telling which one is almost impossible other than by substitution. When the computer is off there is still 5V standby power applied to the motherboard by the PSU, and this is what is used to start the computer. I suspect that when you "pull the main plug out of the wall and fiddle with the fuse" you are just removing the 5V standby and for some reason this lets the computer restart. I suggest that you buy or borrow another PSU and see if that cures the problem. A PSU isn't terribly expensive and is fairly simple to replace. A new motherboard is another matter entirely.

br8nd4n 08:00 17 Mar 2008

Gongoozler,