Pop-ups on PCA Forums

griffon 56 16:54 14 Jul 2007

I'm in email correspondence with the FE over advert windows which pop up on PCA Forum pages. The FE will be dealing with the matter shortly but it might be useful evidence if anybody else has experienced the following.

Unwanted windows from:

1. IMG.MEDIAPLEX.COM 2. SMARTBUSINESSIT.CO.UK 3. AKAMAI.COM and 4. ADTECH.PANTHER.COM

I've scanned with Spybot, A-Squared and Ad-Aware to no effect, but AVG Antispy came up with 'Adware.zango' and 'Trojan.Isbar.s', both of which I deleted, but I'm still getting the pop-ups.

I know that IMG stands for International Management Group which boasts many of the great and the good as clients, such as Jack Nicklaus, Arnie Palmer, Ernie Els and so on, but other than that I've no knowledge of any of them.

If anybody else is suffering please post here.

Batch 17:04 14 Jul 2007

I've blocked a number of the ad services that PCA website embeds in its pages due to the extreme load these put on the CPU (esp. the dynamic images such as flash, .gif etc.). I often have several PCA pages open simultaneously and CPU was often hitting 100% and killing the machine.

Diemmess 17:08 14 Jul 2007

...... for about one day with something that popped up as the window developed.
It affected My Postings and Helproom at least, obscuring most of the window.

Never let it develop enough to see the message, just closed it at once.

As I said, today - no bother.

griffon 56 13:36 15 Jul 2007

Hi Batch & Diemmess,

I found that Firefox's pop-up blocker was not enabled, tho' I thought that it was. I've only been here for a few moments today but there is no sign of the offensive ads so far, one of which was for Dell computers. Batch, I didn't know that they were embedded in PCA's own pages, at least it makes them benign, I hope.

I think the pop-up blocker has cured the problem.

Batch 16:29 15 Jul 2007