Pop-up claiming to be Windows????

  DJ-Garry 21:23 02 Feb 2014

Hi guys ... just had this small pop-up, and when clicking on the link, it took me to the page behind it in the picture ....... The url has no security (it seems to me) :/ Is it genuine and ok to follow though with, or viral?

Thanks :)


  wee eddie 22:14 02 Feb 2014

Please try to post the link again

  lotvic 22:57 02 Feb 2014

wee eddie, you could have copied and pasted... link ClickHere

  DJ-Garry 08:22 03 Feb 2014

bump :)

  Secret-Squirrel 09:03 03 Feb 2014

Gaz, the website address in your browser's address bar appears genuine as it shows "microsoft.com" as the domain name.

To check whether there really is an activation problem with your copy of Windows go to Control Panel -> System. Look at the bottom of the screen in the "Windows activation" section and it'll tell you the activation status. If it's not activated then click on the link there.

  wee eddie 12:11 03 Feb 2014

Thanks for the suggestion lotvic, but I was on my Mobile Phone and have not yet managed to workout how to Cut and Paste.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

Galaxy Note 8 vs iPhone X

Awful clip art from 1994 is being tweeted every hour by a bot

How to update iOS on iPhone or iPad

Les meilleures applications pour enfants 2017