Piano Keyboard to PC Connection.

Tockman 19:33 01 Apr 2003

Hi there. P.C. Novice Here!
Is it possible to connect & record a Piano KeyBoard (Technics KN5000)to PC(XP)without using expensive SoundCards etc? I have Onboard Wavetable 32 Sound,(whatever that is)told you I was a novice!
Have Midi Cable. Can anyone Help.

Thanks, Tockman

Newuser435 20:48 01 Apr 2003

hi
try connecting your midi cable to the games port,
(joystick socket on back of pc?)
and then use windows sound recorder.

ciao

canard 23:22 01 Apr 2003

We were asking the same question at the pc shop this afternoon and the man [2 men actually] told us that nowadays no pcs have the joystick connection. It is all done, apparently, via an additional soundcard. I would very much like to hear if PCA readers agree with this statement. And if joystick ports are still available on new pcs where to find the suppliers.

Tockman 23:44 01 Apr 2003

Thanks Newuser,
Tried that,can here music very faintly but poor quality. any other ideas. Tockman.

Eagie 00:02 02 Apr 2003

Control the keyboard using midi (in which cae you would need either a cable that goes from your joystick port to two midi connectors - one in, one out - or a dedicated MIDI interface)?

Or just record from it (just connect the keyboard's line out - which will prpbably be two phonons - to your line in port - which will be a mini jack - making sure all the settings are correct)?

If you want to go down the MIDI route I would recommend a midi interface rather than the old joystick port - it's specifically built for the job. You can get some sound cards with midi ports built in. Personally I have an external sound module with a mixer and interface built-in.

kimjhon 00:37 02 Apr 2003

I take it, Tockman, that you want to hear the rendition and record it as a .midi file?
Thinking of buying a keyboard, myself, if this were possible.

Newuser435, Windows sound recorder will only record WYhearIWYG as a .wav file. Is this right?

tbh72 00:47 02 Apr 2003