PCI-E Graphics question

Reb 20:00 26 Jun 2007

ATI X1650 (Triplex parasouls) DDR2 128bit
333MHz memory frequency/clock
553.5MHz GPU frequency/core clock
Abit IP35-e M/board
Award BIOS

I am new to PCI-e graphics cards & having finally got my system up and running I now have a graphics problem. I think this maybe due to it not being set up right in the bios -
in the bios it has 'PCI Express Frequency, the default is 100 to a max of 200MHz but I am unclear what I should be setting it to - I am not sure of the relation between the core clock & memory clock, is it like the CPU & RAM? I thought of setting it to 166 (half of 333) would that be right? Info from Riva Tuner says it has internal DAC 400MHz so maybe I should set it to 200?
With it set to 100 if I try & get a vista performance rating it gets to the video and the screen freezes & the system seems generally unstable. I was unable to get the drivers from Triplex but got them direct from ATI. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks, Rebecca

umbongo(uk) 20:23 26 Jun 2007

no leave it alone this is an overclocking option

it will cause instability if you dont know what your doing
leave it at 100

try reinstalling the drivers for the card , not the ones that came on the disc with it.. but from ati site in link below

click here

open link choose operating system :vista
32bit vista
choose :radeon
choose card :1650 series

reply if anything goes wrong

umbongo(uk) 09:34 27 Jun 2007

remember the vista drivers for ati and nvidia are in a very immature state for this operating system
as opposed to xp pro/home were they are mature
if you read other web pages you will see others having the same issue,s with vista

jarvis10@btinternet.com 09:55 27 Jun 2007

i have 2 pc's with nvidia 8800 gpus have just checked both and they are set at 200 mhz (the max i suppose) however, i have never set this manually both pc's tuned with ntune on latest drivers i would leave it to the software/drivers/system.
i pc xp the other vista