pci cards help

proppamunchkin 13:31 13 Jun 2008

i currently have a pc im trying to sort out for my sister. it has an integrated ie attached to motherboard plug in for monitor and such like and was wondering if a pci card could be used instead of the slot already attached to motherboard. the motherboard in question is a micro star model number ms-6787. the reason im asking is that when fully switched on the monitor recieves no signal and i have tried numberous monitors but all to no avail. thanks in advance for help. i am not that technically minded when it comes to pc jargon so be nice :)

PO79 13:40 13 Jun 2008

Your Motherboard will support either a PCI or AGP x2/x4 AGP card. The AGP option would be better.

click here for mobo specs.

Have you tried entering the BIOS at start up and seeing if onboard graphics has been turned off, id so reset it to Auto.

proppamunchkin 13:44 13 Jun 2008

i cant access BIOS due to no signal on monitor unfortunately but thank you for your advice. ill shop around to try and get a cheap deal on agp or pci but will post if that helps. thank you

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 13:55 13 Jun 2008

reset the BIOS to default by either using the clear BIOS jumper or by removing the CMOS battery (with PC unlugged) for 10 mins.

Refit battery and reboot see if screen now reappears.

proppamunchkin 11:26 14 Jun 2008

hiya i tried removing the battery and left it out overnight but the monitor still show no signal input id be tearing my hair out if i had any can someone please give me any other pieces of advice cheers

MarvintheAndroid 15:21 14 Jun 2008

Here is the manual :

click here

Marv

proppamunchkin 20:43 14 Jun 2008

cheers marv for the link to the manual i bin searching online for it for ages :) hopefully i can get some ideas from there as to the problem

proppamunchkin 22:24 14 Jun 2008