PC sound problems

powely 19:23 12 Apr 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I'm having problems with my sound card/ drivers? I think? And I would really appricate some advice.

I cannot get any sound at all, and when I go to Sound and Audio devices in Control panel it states that their is No Audio Device. I looked at my Device Manager and it says there are Legacy Audio Drivers and Codecs installed? My Computer is a HP Pavillion zv5014ea laptop and I've checked with the HP website and it says the drivers should be SoundMAX, which I've attempted in install but it comes up with an installation error and say to restart the computer and try installation again.

I'm a novice at fixing problems, so a step by step guide to finding a solution this problem would be hugely appricated.

Cheers guys.

Al

GaT7 21:40 12 Apr 2008

Step-by-step instructions here click here. Make sure to choose the one for your OS.

If it's Win 2K/XP, these are the drivers to download if you require them click here. G

GaT7 21:41 12 Apr 2008

Sorry, the 2nd link again click here. G

powely 14:06 13 Apr 2008

Hi cheers for the links - which I've followed and updated the drivers - however nothing seems to have changed (apart from the computer finding new hardware upon restart), I still do not have any sound and the Sound and Audio devices in Control panel still states that their is No Audio Device? Could you possibly point me in the direction of the next step?

Cheers

Al

eedcam 14:23 13 Apr 2008

Have you by any chance just done any windows updates not unknown for them to stuff the audio device . if you have try arestore to before them see if that fixes . You can always jump back to to day

powely 08:43 16 Apr 2008