Paint Shop Pro

Dirk Diggler 15:47 23 Sep 2008

Hi

Firstly apologies if this is in the wrong place but I am a newbie both on here and with PSP in general

I have a photo taken by myself at a recent charity football match (no copyright issues involved)

The player is known to me and has asked if I can take the image and make the background Black & White while keeping him in his "action" shot in the original colour (the kind of way that vintage pics that show Geoff Hurst holding the world cup in his red top but with the rest of the image turned B&W)

Now I have had a very basic play with masks & layers etc but this is way outta by depth

He has asked if I can do it fairly quickly as he is planning to use it in the charity auction that will follow next weeks game

Can anyone give me a quick run-down on what i need to do

PS I am using PSP7

Many thanks

Kevscar1 15:58 23 Sep 2008

I do play around with PSP but someone may come a long with a better suggestion.
Go to colours on the top bar and change to greyscale. Save this under a new name.
Open original again

Kevscar1 16:01 23 Sep 2008

whoops posted to soon
Then go to layers promote to layer. Now use the eraser brush delete all the background. It gets a bit fiddely when you get close to your subject but zoom in and chane brush size.
When you have finished copy and Paste as new layer onto the black and white photo then save as JPG whuch will merge the two

feb 16:23 23 Sep 2008

I don't know if this will work with psp7 as it uses X2 but it's a good tutorial click here The guide in the video could be used for the effect you are after

Dirk Diggler 16:31 23 Sep 2008

for the help so far.

I and still trying kevscar suggestion but cannot get it to do as described (guess this will take a little time lol)

FAO Feb: Not sure if PSP7 will allow me to do the tutorial but it will be the next thing to try after I have pulled my hair out :-)

Dirk Diggler 16:36 23 Sep 2008