Painfully slow ADSL

NiN 18:20 22 Feb 2006

Hi, i'm quite new to this so please bear with me. For the past 4 years I have been happily connected to broadband via Pipex, the past 18 months or so on a 2mb line. It has all been working fantastically. Suddenly since the very end of Jan, my download speeds have dropped from around 220+kbps to about 30kbps. After speaking to Pipex support (not the best, it has to be said), i was getting nowhere and I eventually threw in the towel and switched to PlusNet (better support and much much cheaper). I still have the terrible connection speeds. In my possession I have three machines, two routers and a modem (obviously not all connected at once), and i've tried varying configurations to rule out hardware at my end. I've spoken to PlusNet who say that as I can get a throughput of over 400kbps there is nothing more they can do to help. My throughput ranges from 150kbps to around 500kbps. I understand that it should be about 1800kbps+ for a 2mb service. I'm literally only a few hundred metres from the exchange. It's really starting to get me down now, as it was working great and now I have the equivalent of a 256k connection. I can get a decent speed if I use the machine in the middle of the night, but really that's not practical. Can anyone suggest a way I could progress this forward?

The Kestrel 18:51 22 Feb 2006

Have you asked BT or whoever supplies your 'phone service to check the line running into your home? I had a similar problem some time ago, and it turned out to be an old faulty cable. It was replaced with a nice new shiny copper cable, and problem solved.

curlylad 19:02 22 Feb 2006

Couple of things , really just to eliminate from our inquiries.
1) You need to have a adsl filter plugged into every phone socket in the house that is being used even if it is a phone downstairs and you are using the phone socket upstairs for your PC , the downstairs socket must also have a filter fitted.