Outlook 2007 and sky.com

Frankfurt 20:40 10 Sep 2007

Absolute Beginner....
I have a laptop, Vista Home Premium, and have just changed ISP (from virgin.net to sky.com) but can no longer send/receive emails in Outlook.
I have made changes in 'Account Settings' to my new email address; then highlighted the new address and changed manually incoming/outgoing mail server settings to: pop.sky.com/smtp.sky.com.
Testing account settings, I get the following error message: None of the authentication methods supported by this client are supported by your server.
What am I doing wrong?

SANTOS7 20:50 10 Sep 2007

This may help....

1. Click Tools/Accounts and double-click the account that is giving you the error

2. Click "More Settings" button then "Outgoing Server" tab at the top

3. Put a check in "My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication" AND put a check in "Log onto incoming mail server before sending mail"

DO NOT PUT YOUR USERNAME AND PW FOR YOUR ISP IN THE CREDENTIALS FIELDS.

4. Click the "Ok" button to take you back to the "Change Email Account" properties box and then click the "Test Account Settings.." button.

Frankfurt 22:06 10 Sep 2007

I am sure I followed your instructions to the letter...
....and now got two, very similar, error messages:

1. Log onto incoming mail server (POP3): Cannot find the email server. Verify the server information in your account properties.
2. Send test email message: Cannot find the email server. Verify the email information in your account properties.

I cannot work out where/how to find this requested info. .....
Thank you for your help, sorry it didn't work.... any other ideas??

SANTOS7 22:10 10 Sep 2007

click here

follow thread it may help...

Ashrich 22:26 10 Sep 2007