OS limitation when installing memory

Ssylvester 17:11 28 Jan 2014

Hi i bought a PC last year in december. the specs are: motherboard M5A78L-M/USB3, Ram Hyperam (2x4) 8GB DDR3 1600, processor amd fx 4100 quad core 3.6ghz, graphics card NVidia GeForce GT640-2GD3 - Asus edition, 500gb hard drive, 64-bit operating system windows ultimate... I have noticed that only 4 gb of my ram is installed on my motherbored as i have 2x4gb inside my pc system and looked at a lot of things why it wasnt installed as im not an expert with my pc... i went onto looking at my motherboard and saw this in the specifications- * Due to OS limitation, when installing total memory of 4GB capacity or more, Windows® 32-bit operation system may only recognize less than 3GB. Install a 64-bit Windows® OS when you want to install 4GB or more memory on the motherboard. click here only think this means due to my operating system my motherbored is limited to a certain amount of ram, i dont know how to fix it or if it is fix able any advice or help very appreciated, thanks.

I

Bris 17:31 28 Jan 2014

Its the OS that limits the amount of memory you can install.

A 32 bit OS can only address a little over 3GB of memory, you can install more but the OS cant use it.

A 64 bit OS can address as much memory as you motherboard can take.

larchwoodmark 17:33 28 Jan 2014

hi, have you checked in computer properties, that the o/s is 64bit

mark

Ssylvester 18:00 28 Jan 2014

my motherboard is apparently capable for 32gb of ram ddr3 but im not a clue how operating systems work to be honest, so will i need to change my operating system and if i do would you recommend any if this is the case, and yes it says 64-bit operating system and when i turn it on it opens with windows 7 ultimate

Ian in Northampton 18:07 28 Jan 2014

I think you may be confused.