Is Online email secure?

hawthorn59 15:42 08 Jul 2009

Hi Folks

Im thinking of opening a new email account with gmx.com. Ive seen it operate and its very impressive.

One of my worries is whether my email archives will be safe, by that I simply mean safe from ever being lost, or deleted if gmx crashed or ceased to exist.

At the moment Im using a pop email account through windows mail, and that way I can do backups.

But I have a small business Id like to keep seperate and an online account seems a way to do it.

thanks

h

Graphicool1 15:59 08 Jul 2009

-
But if you have some data you wish to keep as safe as possible. Then you've got to save it in as many places as you can. IE...

External HDD
Internal Slave Drive
Memory Sticks
Flash Drives
CD/DVD's
and yes, online too if you want?

As my name implies I'm an artist, photographer and poet. I'm paranoid about my work. So much so I've spent the past three years trying to set up a web site, to show my work while at the same time protecting it. There are many things that can be done. However, nothing is 100% safe.

hawthorn59 02:51 09 Jul 2009

But if I decide to use gmx, how do I save/backup emails I receive and send online, I wonder?

h

gazzaho 03:41 09 Jul 2009

If you have to ask the question then perhaps you've already answered it. I personally wouldn't use any webmail services for important emails.

Using Outlook Express or Windows Mail allows for backup and restore and your email is available even if the webmail servers go down, as you have the physical backup, be it on another hard drive, Flashdrive or whatever.

This is something I can't understand about the upcoming release of Windows 7, it doesn't have a email client at all. If you want to read/write email messages you have to use webmail, have Office installed or download another client like Thunderbird.

hawthorn59 17:25 09 Jul 2009