One website wont open with Tesco?

bri-an 14:48 01 Apr 2005

When I try to go to a site (discountdiscs.co.uk) my computer 'hangs' and finally I get "Cannot find server". his has been happening for a couple of days, and I thought the site was 'down'.

However, if I change from my 'Tesco' ISP to my 'second' BTConnect ISP, the site comes up immediately!!
As a relative novice, I am at a loss - any suggestions (apart from ditching Tesco!)?

Willow12 20:54 13 Apr 2005

I have had this problem myself (Tesco) - any advise would be welcome.

octal 22:02 13 Apr 2005

You can try pinging the site by typing 'ping' then the address in the command line, it should return with its address, something like this:

PING www. discountdiscs. co.uk (213.129.74.86) 56(84) bytes of data.

If you get an error message its probably the ISP blocking the address, it does happen sometimes, usually its only temporary and returns after a few days, I've no idea why.

bri-an 11:10 14 Apr 2005

Have just tried 'pinging' and got no help - it went into a 'google' search.

I have spent the last ten days trying to get Tesco support to assist (the on-line support)but after ten days I just about gave up - they were automatons! They would not see my problem, I kept getting 'standard' replies about being unable to connect to Tesco (which I have no problem with!).

They have had me download and try Firefox (same results!) - one advisor even thought my computer clock might be at the wrong time, and could I check it!!

Ho Hum - and they've just announced over £2 billion profit, I believe. Nice for some!

Sort of glad to hear you are having the same problem , Willow12, will post if I eventually get anywhere with Tesco.

x3sw 10:37 17 Apr 2005