OK to Delete '$UPGRADE.~OS'?

  Genius1 13:03 10 May 2008
Locked

Today, I performed a clean install of Vista (using the workaround described here; click here).

However, the upgrade of the clean install failed, meaning I rolled back to the clean install. As it turns out, activation was successful of the clean install and everything is running well.

On the C: drive, I now have two folders entitled '$UPGRADE.~OS' and '$WINDOWS.~BT'. Is it OK to delete these two folders?

Thanks.

  Genius1 18:38 11 May 2008

Anyone know?

  brundle 18:41 11 May 2008

Can't say for sure. Compress them, delete the originals. If you have no problems after a week or so, delete the .zip files.

  Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:43 11 May 2008

files / folders starting with $ are usuall tempory folders used by windows updates and can be deleted safely if your machine is behaving ok.

  Genius1 18:18 14 May 2008

Deleted and have experienced no problems.

Thanks for the advice.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

AMD Ryzen news - release date, UK price, features and specifications

The 12 best apps for drawing and painting on your iPad

Mac power user tips and hidden tricks

Comment faire des captures d’écran sous Windows 10 ?