Novice with networks, please help me file share!!

alexgray104 22:57 17 Oct 2006

Hello All,

I hope you can help. I am new to wireless networks, having successfully used my laptop on desk for the last year with a modem, I took the plunge to wireless. The box said it was simple, so did the instructions, alas no :(. I have successfully setup the router so it runs on its own, a desktop in room1 and two laptops, in room2. They all connect to "G604T WIRELESS" (which i shall have to get round to changing!) and they can all connect to the internet fine, its just file sharing I can't do. I haven't a clue where to start. I have a Dell Latitude D600 running on XP MCE (SP2), a Compaq Evo N610c running XP Pro (SP1), and finally a Packard Bell iMedia (desktop) running XP MCE (SP2). I'll go through what I've already tried.

Clicking the "setup a wireless network" in control panel on either of the SP2 laptops brings up a handy wizard, although 2 drawbacks being I can't get the thing to work on the SP1 laptop and there isn't a USB slot in my router to plug the USB flash drive into.

Then I tried "setup a home or office network" as I noticed that option was on the SP1 laptop as well, alas, no, it would seem I need a cable job to do that.

I really dunno where I'm going wrong or what to do next. All I want is to setup a simple network of 3 computers which have a common "shared" folder and access to a printer which is permantly connected to the Packard Bell desktop.

Many Thanks in advance for your much appreciated help on this matter. :) :) :)

alexgray104 22:59 17 Oct 2006

Oh, sorry, I was meant to put this in the networking forum. Apologies everyone...

Stuartli 23:51 17 Oct 2006

It's all explained by keying in Share Printer in XP's Help and Support (as usual a comprehensive and well written Microsoft section common to all its programs and applications).

woodchip 00:08 18 Oct 2006