Notebook connects but PC doesn't

boringoldfart 08:07 11 Aug 2006

I have been using Wireless Broadband successfully for a couple months from BT. I still am able to do so , on my Gateway laptop, but last week the Outlook Express (and IE) programs on a Packard Bell PC on the same network suddenly reported "unable to find server". I have carefully read all (well perhaps not ALL) the relevant postings on the excellent Forum, and have spent many happy hours fiddling with ipconfig/network wizard/repair connection - you name it, I've tried it. I am updating my email records on the PC by using the Notebook as an intermediary to connect to the net, so there is obviously nothing wrong with my broadband connection through the Netgear router/server. Incidentally the PC connects to the net using dial-up. Why can't it "see" the broadband connection any more?

FelixTCat 08:49 11 Aug 2006

boringoldfart,

Can the pc see the router?

What exactly do you mean by "I am updating my email records on the PC by using the Notebook as an intermediary to connect to the net"?

Try opening IE and going to Tools - Internet Options - Connections. Which radio button is ticked? Try ticking "Never dial a connection"? Can you get the internet now?

Click LAN Settings. Is "Automatically detect settings" ticked?

Regards,

Felix

boringoldfart 16:10 11 Aug 2006

Thankyou Felix t'cat for your interest. To answer your questions in order: (1) Yes, Sir, the PC can indeed see the router. There is a cute little representation of a Monitor in the bottom-right tray with three brackets indicative of transmission and a right-click on this can lead me to a Status screen which reads "Connected"/network Netgear/duration 1 day 03.08.58/Speed 24.0 Mbps/packets sent 40,648/packets received 28,159. I don't know ahet it's doing with all those packets but it sure as eggs isn't sending them to either Outlook Express or IE in a manner they comprehend.