Norton 360

dannyboy38 15:52 20 Sep 2007

I have recently downloaded Norton 360 anitvirus programme onto my PC as my previous Norton was up for renewal. I hav esince had none stop issues and now my PC has died and I am unable to boot it up. I have called a helpline and they say that my hard drive it not being recognised ( maybe a loose wire or possible a complete blow out ) not sure. Do you think that Norton 360 has anything to do with it or am i just an unlcky fella.
I am not the PC / Technically minded so please use normal language and words in your response.
Many Thanks

birdface 16:22 20 Sep 2007

Try starting in safe mode.Just keep tapping F8 as the computer starts,And try last good configuration or system restore.You could also delete Norton if you can get in there.

dannyboy38 16:32 20 Sep 2007

Thanks. When I access safe mode, what should I do next. Sorry but I am not that good with the technical side. How do I system restore or last configuration? Is it worth deleting Norton then seeing as I have recently paid for it.

birdface 17:21 20 Sep 2007

Ok.If it starts in safe mode just use your keyboard up down arrows,You will see Last good configuration,Stop on that and press enter.Now you say your Norton was up for renewal.Did you delete it using the Norton Removal tool.or did you install over the top of it.Once again if you can start in safe mode,Just use your up down arrows on keyboard to you see safe mode and press enter.Now I would delete Norton.You will probably have the keycode and you can reinstall it later.

dannyboy38 17:36 20 Sep 2007

HI. I installed the new Norton 360 over the top of the old Norton so I would assume that during the download, it deleted the old version. I will try what you have told me and let you know. Thanks for the advice

birdface 18:03 20 Sep 2007