Noisy PC

Jazzyboo 12:58 04 Jul 2010

My PC is really loud. It sounds sometimes like a whiring noise. Really loud even people on the phone can hear it and I can if I am downstairs and my PC is upstairs. I am not technically minded at all but where the light is to indicate that the PC is on, the smaller one is flickering all the time as if there is something loading within. Sometimes, when I have not got IE open or windows mail it is silent as it should be. I have backed up I think correctly just in case. The PC is 2 years old.

birdface 13:06 04 Jul 2010

Right click the Taskbar and select Task manager.
processes. And under CPU which programs are using up most of the CPU.
if nothing running System Idle Process should be showing about 96% this is normal any other program showing a high % of the CPU let us know what.

onthelimit 13:07 04 Jul 2010

From the way you describe the noise and when it happens, I would say the hard drive is on the way out. Backing up, as you have done, is a sensible precaution. It's surprising that this has happened after only two years, though. To confirm the problem you need to (if you feel capable of this - you say you are not technically savvy) is to take off a side from the pc and use something like a wooden spoon between your ear and the hard drive (easy to identify)- if that is the prob, you will hear the noise loud and clear. If so, it will need changing which is probably a job for an technician.

Dark Mantis 13:14 04 Jul 2010

The other possibility is a dirty or worn fan. This can make a really loud whirring noise and is easier to fix if it is. You really need to take off the side panel and see where the noise is loudest.

birdface 13:24 04 Jul 2010

This from an old thread of mine with the same sort of problem.

click here

It was the PSU that was causing my problem.
The computer is still working now without the noise.
I stopped the fan running on the PSU for about 4 seconds and the Noise went away.