No Post

Jay 15:20 21 Mar 2008

My daughter and her boyfriend left their computer to download a large file. When they went back to it the screen was blank and stayed blank after re booting.
There are no Post beeps and no Bios screen but all the fans work and there does seem to be an initial whirr from the HD.
It is an old system that they inherited with no manuals but as they have just got themselves on the property ladder, they can't afford a new computer so I've been trying my best to sort this one out but I'm beginning to run out of ideas.
It has an Epox EP 8KTA3 Motherboard with an AMD Thunderbird 1.0 CPU. I've tried connecting another monitor, different graphics card, disconnecting everything except memory and graphics, resetting the CMOS, trying a different CPU all with no result.
I did wonder if perhaps the Bios could have been corrupted and as a last resort thought about trying to flash the Bios but was a bit reluctant as I've never done this before. However, the links on the Epox site to the relevant downloads don't seem to work.
Does anyone have any suggestions before I go mad?
Thanks in advance.

Diemmess 16:03 21 Mar 2008

You seem to have tried almost everything except -
Have you a spare PSU which you can try in substitution?
PSU's are quite sophisticated with circuits that keep the supply voltages within quite strict limits. However if a component fails it can lead to loss of useful current as soon as any load is placed on it.

One other thought. When you tried disconnecting "everything" did that include the HD?
If the HD has a motor fault it could drag the supply voltage down with it.
Booting without an HD will give a "drive not found", or boot failure or something like, but if you can go that far showing on the monitor it will absolve the PSU.

Jay 16:13 21 Mar 2008