No external hard drive?

mollflanders 13:49 01 May 2008

Hi,

I have just got this pc running XP so I am still setting it up. I am trying to use my camera with it but the external e drive is not showing up in my computer.

I have been into computer management/disk management to try and make a new drive but the option to partition or add new drive is not there. It just gives the option of help.

What is present is Partition 1 (c:), CDROM 0 and Disk 0 and a (what I think is) a blank partition which is file system FAT32. Right click on this brings up help also.

I'm a novice at this sort of thing so I hope this makes sense and any help is really appreciated!

Thanks
Mo

Ditch999 14:00 01 May 2008

Is there a setting on your camera which switches it to USB or PC mode?

mollflanders 14:07 01 May 2008

I dont think so, it just comes up as pc.

I have tried 2 cameras, a web cam and an ipod all of which have worked on my old pc. There is no E drive anywhere.

Woolwell 14:11 01 May 2008

When you connect your camera by USB then the PC will/should automatically allocate it a drive letter (which may or may not be E). You don't need to create a partition.

Connect the camera and the open My Computer and see if it shows up under "devices with removable storage".

What make of camera is it? You may need to install the software/drivers that came with it for the above to happen.

mollflanders 14:17 01 May 2008

All the drivers are installed. When the camera is connected it makes the noise that it recognises it as plugged in. In my computer it does not acknowledge any devices are there. It only shows A, C and D drives.

The camera is a new Sanyo but have the same problem with my year old Nikon.

Mick54 15:23 01 May 2008