Nikon digital camera.......storage ?

Magik™ 18:22 11 May 2003

hi, just on the point of ordering a digital camera,but, i now notice that,and i quote, storage not supplied, it takes compact flash type I and II, now i am lost, first what are they? and second, does it mean i have to get the above before i can use it? as you can tell i am new to this :-((

thanks

_Treb_ 18:30 11 May 2003

Compact flash and smart media are cards on whivh your photos are stored in the camera. Check on a PC site for more info. I use Smart Media and a 64 Megabyte card costs £20 - £30.

Magik™ 18:33 11 May 2003

Thanks, i have been to the nikon web site, but it does not say.i will continue looking.

_Treb_ 18:43 11 May 2003

CompactFlash® is a very small removable mass storage device. First introduced in 1994 by SanDisk Corporation, CF™ cards weigh a half ounce and are the size of a matchbook. They provide complete PCMCIA-ATA functionality and compatibility plus TrueIDE functionality compatible with ATA/ATAPI-4. At 43mm (1.7") x 36mm (1.4") x 3.3mm (0.13"), the device's thickness is less than one-half of a current PCMCIA Type II card. It is actually one-fourth the volume of a PCMCIA card. Compared to a 68-pin PCMCIA card, a CF card has 50 pins but still conforms to PCMCIA ATA specs. It can be easily slipped into a passive 68-pin Type II adapter card that fully meets PCMCIA electrical and mechanical interface specifications.

CompactFlash cards are designed with flash technology, a non-volatile storage solution that does not require a battery to retain data indefinitely. CompactFlash storage products are solid state, meaning they contain no moving parts, and provide users with much greater protection of their data than conventional magnetic disk drives. They are five to ten times more rugged and reliable than disk drives including those found in PC Card Type III products. CF cards consume only five percent of the power required by small disk drives.

Borrowed this from here click here