Newbie needs help installing gfx card

Kanikuman 19:23 26 Aug 2007

Hello! I am new to this forum and have a bit of a problem.

I was recently playing a game, and my screen went blank, monitor was fine and I could hear sound, so my graphics card has finally died. I have bought a new one, a X1650 PRO AGP and I really need help installing it. It states I have to plug it into my hard drive and power supply, but I'm confused as there are so many cables. It came with quite a lot too, but I presume I only need to use the one with three plastic plugs on the end, the molex pin one.

Could anyone help guide me through installing this card as I am a total newbie at doing it, and am stuck. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I hope to hear from you soon.

ICF 19:35 26 Aug 2007

You should copy the installed card.Take a note of how your old card is fitted and then just replace it with the new one.Sometimes you need to plug in a four pin power lead to the card so it gets it's own power from the PSU

Terry Brown 19:40 26 Aug 2007

Normally the card goes direct into the AGP slot on the motherboard, the power supply question sounds like it needs it's own extra suply from the motherboard and I am guessing that the various cables are different fittings for different boards, choose the one tat suits your board and ignore the rest.
Terry

ICF 19:43 26 Aug 2007

You should copy the installed card.Take a note of how your old card is fitted and then just replace it with the new one.Sometimes you need to plug in a four pin power lead to the card so it gets it's own power from the PSU

click here

click here

click here

Trackrat 19:52 26 Aug 2007

Looking at the card you have just brought, It does not require plugging in to your hard drive or power supply.
Before you do anything go to Add & Remove and uninstall the graphics card drivers (dont worry about this as Windows drivers will give you basic drivers for video, Shut your computer down.