Newbie building first PC

necreoinphreak 00:53 04 Aug 2007

Hello everyone, I've never built a PC from the ground up before, and I'm not that savvy on what's what in the PC world. I get a bit confused trying to figure out specs, and compatibility. Anyway, here's what I've picked out:

click here

Along with a Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme CPU Cooler since I would like to overclock the CPU.

I'm looking for any advice or recommendations.

Thanks in advance,

Eoin

necreoinphreak 02:21 04 Aug 2007

Had to edit my post, I've changed the hard drive.

click here

Si_L 02:50 04 Aug 2007

Looks good, components are on the expensive side. Hunt around and you could save a fortune.

necreoinphreak 07:04 04 Aug 2007

Thanks for the info. I searched around and found a few sites that gave me slightly lower prices (up to $10 less) but nothing too serious.

Do you mean I can find the same brand components at a lower price? Or components of a different brand that are equal to those I've chosen but are less expensive?

Thanks for any info in advance.

Totally-braindead 13:25 04 Aug 2007

Are you based in the US as all the prices are in dollars?

ambra4 19:02 04 Aug 2007

Totally-braindead

He is base in the US as tigerdirect is a US base equipment supplier, does not ship overseas

necreoinphreak 23:08 04 Aug 2007

Thank you ambra, yes I'm in the US.

I've tried to do some digging, but I can't find the same components at lower prices than those.

Any help is welcome, and thank you in advance.

ambra4 00:44 05 Aug 2007

Necreoinphreak

I also buy from tiger direct as my son live in the US so I ship it to him.

I don’t thing you will find a site with cheaper prices, if you do the shipping & handling charges that some of these company want to charge you is outrageous. Never had and problems with tiger direct

I would change the hard drive to a Sata type drive as the motherboard only has 1 IDE connection and 4 SATA connections