New website, comments please

Chillie 15:11 10 Sep 2007

Taken the plunge and have tried to create a simple site for my village. It is written in XHTML Strict using HTMLgate Free. I would like to avoid using Javascript. There is still lots of work to do and would greatly appreciate your views, criticisms and advice. The site can be viewed here click here

I would like to have some drop-menus possibly using this tutorial click here; find a way to use thumbnails and let the user click and expand; use mailto-encrypter on the 'Contact Us' page and avoid image hotlinking using click here.

I do hope you can help.

Many thanks

IClaudio 18:32 10 Sep 2007

I don't think you need worry too much about hotlinking! :)

The header graphic needs to be higher resolution.

"Please let me know if you would like to submit an image to this gallery." should possibly have the mailto: link on the "please let me know" rather than "submit an image"....

Marko797 20:37 10 Sep 2007

I'm no expert on this but the top banner is blurred...

Ross Murray 21:47 10 Sep 2007

Also, current trends in web-design suggest that you should not use centered text in banners. I'd either right or left align the text with the little logo/ shape next to it.

Image needs to be made clearer (top banner) by using a better contrast. Perhaps all black text?

Monochramtic colour schemes are popular at the moment (i.e. using one colour and its hues i.e. in your site stick to a choice of 2/3 blues and black and white).

Hope that helps Ross.

Chillie 09:08 11 Sep 2007

It is much appreciated. Totally agree about the top banner. Possibly due to using PowerPoint to create banner and then saving as image; will try and get it sharper. Would Paintshop Pro be any good for this? Will also play around with colour scheme.

Any comments about drop-down menus, thumbnails and mail-encrypter please?

gibbs1984 13:08 11 Sep 2007

You can do a CSS only drop down menu.

click here