A new web designer

scoops 09:43 01 Jan 2005

I work in marketing, and I thought that it might be usefull for my career if I learnt how to design web sites. So, in my spare time I have been teaching my self. I am moving to Birmingham in a few weeks and so thought a good site idea may be a guide to the city.

I have now created most of the site, although I am still adding content etc. I could now do with a bit of advice as to how I can get the site to look just that bit more professional/slick.

Comments would be appreciated.

click here

Forum Editor 10:46 01 Jan 2005

from others. My immediate comments are:-

1. The total lack of images on your inside pages will induce boredom, and people will tend to click away. People buy with their eyes, and the very best information sites are image-rich. When teaching web-design I always refer people to the BBC news site
click here as an example of how to present information in an attractive and readily-accessible way.

2. Large areas of text are difficult to read on-screen. Try putting text into columns (like a newspaper) in bite-sized chunks, and experiment with a smaller text size (8point verdana bold is ideal) interspersed with images.

3. Ads are fine on an information site - people expect to see them - but beware of losing the correct balance between content and banner ads....too many ads blinking and flashing is a distraction and an irritation. The giant Amazon banner that greets you on the bottom of the 'about Brum' page is a real horror.

4. Get your site properly hosted on its own domain name - sites that are in free ISP space will be ostracised by the big search engines, and a free web-space address in the browser bar is a glaring sign of an amateur effort.