New PC - which one for around £1000?

Ibb1982 00:00 17 Oct 2008

Hey guys

I'm in need of help, my current PC has died on me, I bought it almost 7yrs ago, and would rather get a new PC instead of repairing/upgrading.

I am a novice when it comes to specs. All I know is that I need a good sized flat screen monitor, be able watch DVDs and other media, listen to music, browse the internet, run MS Office, and be able to burn the odd DVD.

I'm after a nice shiny media centre style PC, that looks stylish. I've seen some Sony and HP models in stores which looked like fancy DVD players good enough to be in the lounge.

I'm a big fan of shiny black and silver, but just shiny black is good enough for me.

If anyone can help me out in getting the best for my money at £1000ish, I would be really greatful.

FatboySlim71 08:32 17 Oct 2008

I would recommend Cougar Extreme. IMO you will struggle to find anyone who will provide superior customer service, range of choice and quality of build & components for the price.

With Cougar you basically pick the case you want from the extensive range, then the amount of memory (most if not all of the memory is Corsair, which is about the best you can get) you then pick your PSU brand/power rating, you then choose what DVD/CD drives and amount you are wanting installed.

I have recently used Cougar's customer service due to a fault on my PSU and basically they could not have been anymore helpful, they arranged a pickup of the PC, this was free, all other PC companies I have dealt with have expected me to pay the return to them shipping. Cougar even fitted me the next model up of PSU at no cost as the PC was under warranty.

I simple cannot recommend them enough. If you do a search on here for Cougar Extreme you will see how highly they are thought of.

click here

Ibb1982 18:21 17 Oct 2008

Thanks for the Cougar link

I had go at speccing up a pc, but got lost, and ended up over speccing! :p