New PC Spec - Help For Relative Novice please!

The Drog 21:12 21 Sep 2008

First, I’d like to thank you good people for pointing me in the right direction! I had been trawling through pc sites, aiming to buy a new one before I found the threads on Cougar and Cougar-Extreme. I hate to think of the mistake I could have made by buying off one of those sites that have had, shall we say, less than rave reviews – so many thanks for the heads-up folks!

And now I'd like some advice please. I have a limit of around £700, so have settled (more or less anyway) on the following spec. I have a couple of questions I’ve set out below, and I’d like your opinion and if you could maybe point out any obvious incompatibilities.

I have a Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW monitor ready and waiting, so if there are any issues with compatibility with this I’d like to know.

I don’t think I’ll be playing many high-end games (as I’m addicted to Championship Manager and Doom! ;-0 ) and wont be doing video edited or other power-intensive stuff.

I’ve gone for an ATI system:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz 6 Mb cache
RAM: 2 GB DDR3 Corsair DHX 1333C9DHX Twin 3X (2 x 1GB) - is it worth going for 4GB of less powerful memory, eg 4GB Corsair DDR2 800?

Hard Drive: 250Gb SATA

Case and PSU – I have absolutely no idea! I would normally go for the basic Colors-IT case and Standard 400watt PSU, but does anyone have any experience of these? What is the noise level of this choice, and is the standard PSU sufficient for general use?

Graphics Card: ATI 4870 512MB Sapphire
Motherboard: Gigabyte GAP35-S3G – 1333FSB-DDR2 1333x4 Intel P35
I don’t know what I’m choosing here: I assume I could select any graphics card with any motherboard, but its risky to assume isn’t it? Any advice would be welcome.

I’m also going for 2 Samsung Lightscribe optical drives and a Soundblaster Audigy 4 PC! 7.1 sound card.