New member first post

jimo64 18:40 09 Sep 2010

hello
everyone , this is my first time being a member on the forum ,we decided it was time to replace my old Philips icon pc some 7 years + old ,with hopefully something more up to date for gaming & the normal home use + future upgrading . i found out about the forum through some searching on Google for custom build pc.cougar come well recommended here,so i placed an order, first custom build pc & i cant wait to get it.
The friendly staff at cougar, who i asked for any advice on what i was ordering ,i was told to upgrade my power from 400watts so i added 800watts because i decided 2 x 5770 cards & ram from 1300 to 1600 , so thanks to mario / daniel / & other staff members whose names i did not get.

here is my ordered components for the custom build.

Intel Core i7 930 2.8GHz 8MB Cache LG
COOLIT ECO ALC Water cooled
i7 USB3 - ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM
1000GB SATA Hard Drive
2 x ATI HD 5770 1024MB GDDR5 PCI
4GB Corsair Memory DDR3 1600 (2 x 2G
Tempest EVO Midi Tower Case
FSP Everest 800W 85 plus PSU
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
DVD+/- RW - 20X Samsung Lightscribe
Integrated Sound Card

just need to replace my old keyboard & mouse , for something good for gaming any help would be great thanks .

birdface 21:22 09 Sep 2010

Hi jimo64.

Just thought that I would welcome you to the forum and hope that you will be with us for a long time.
Sorry I am not able to help with the keyboard and Mouse I just use the ones that came with my computer.
I hope you enjoy your new computer from Cougar mind and let us know how you get on with it.

AL47 21:32 09 Sep 2010

There are a few bad points to that pc build imo

2x 5770 gfx cards are no better than one 5850 I think, plus they draw a lot more power and to upgrade u have to take 2 out

The RAM on an i7 works best in tri channel.. ie 3 gb 6gb 12 gb

The rest is good