New Laptop User Advice (Toshiba Satelite L300 1AQ

skthecat 09:25 18 Feb 2009

Good Morning All, I am new to laptops and have just purchased a Toshiba L300 1AQ 250Gig hArd Drive Machine.

I am on Virgin Media and ahve installed a Belkin G Router that is wired to a desktop PC running XP Pro, and my laptop is connected wirelessly. My new machine has Vista pre-loaded. I now need to get a office pack (Word, Excel, Etc) I have just discovered OpenOffice.org 3 which apparently a free package and was wanting advice on its useability and compatibility with Microsoft Office?
Also, a lot of people say that new laptops come loaded with all sorts of "JUNK" applications which I should kill off as well.

So, in short, whats OpenOffice Like? and what should I do with all this "Junk" I have a load more questions but I think this should keep me occupied initially as a new user of a laptop.

Regards;

skthecat

Diodorus Siculus 10:16 18 Feb 2009

OpenOffice 3 is pretty good for the average home user; certainly enough to begin with.

click here for decrapifier which will guide you to removal of a lot that you do not require.

You likely have a trial Anti-virus / security system. If you want to remove that, let us know what it is, and someone will suggest how best to remove it and replace it with another.

Technotiger 10:22 18 Feb 2009

In short Open Office Org 3, is excellent IMHO, and it is fully compatible with M'soft Office.

I don't use Vista, so can't offer advice on the programs, though I do agree, most of the Junk can just be deleted.

gazzaho 10:33 18 Feb 2009

I agree Open Office may not be as elegant and feature packed as the likes of MS Office but the important thing is, it's free! It wouldn't hurt to download it and try before deciding to shell out for a commercial package.

skthecat 12:54 18 Feb 2009

Thanks all very much,
1)