New Hard Disk - first problem

hml 17:17 09 Jun 2007

Dell have sent me a new hard disk to replace the one that has failed twice. I have installed it successfully, but for some reason it is shown as the "H" drive. drives C to F are now the slots for memory cards (Compact Flash, etc) and G is eth DVD drive. As a complete novice, (a) does it matter if it is now the "H" drive rather than the more normal "C" and (b) if it does, how do I change it around?

rawprawn 17:26 09 Jun 2007

click here You need to change your HDD with the OS on to C:

hml 16:59 10 Jun 2007

Thank you, but how do I do that?

skidzy 17:37 10 Jun 2007

Changing Drive Letters in Windows XP

1. Right-click My Computer, and then click Manage.
2. Under Computer Management, click Disk Management. In the right pane, you’ll see your drives listed. CD-ROM drives are listed at the bottom of the pane.
3. Right-click the drive or device you want to change, and then click Change Drive Letter and Paths.
4. Click Change, click Assign the following drive letter, click the drive letter you want to assign, and then click OK.

SANTOS7 17:41 10 Jun 2007

i think you will need to reasign C:/ as something else first, say X Y or Z so the letter becomes available..

Migwell 07:50 11 Jun 2007

You cann't change the drive that the Op system is on. You can change letters on every thing else. As far as I am aware you will be stuck with the main drive on 'H' untill you take out anything else other than the main drive and the CD and format the drive and re in-stall op system, which should then be 'C'. This happened to me some time back and the only way I found was to follow what I said above.
Good luck, Migwell

SANTOS7 22:28 11 Jun 2007

A and B are the only preassigned drive letters the only reason your O/S, main drive becomes C is its in order of asignment.

click here

Newuser38 10:20 12 Jun 2007