New Build ~ UEFI/BIOS not displaying correctly via GPU HDMI.

Karma_Train 18:08 03 Mar 2015

Hi, firstly let me just say that I'm old and consequently that tends to make me a bit hard of thinking, although I have built a few PCs in the past so I'm not a total novice.

Because my main PC had started creaking a bit I decided to build a new (new to me) one. I acquired a MSI Z87-G45 board, a i5 4670K CPU and a brand new MSI GTX750TI GPU and together with 8GB of DDR3 and a SSD started putting it all together.

So many things have changed since my last build, I was totally oblivious to SS drives, I didn't know that we had moved on to DDR3 and what in Hell's name is this UEFI thing? Who stole my BIOS?

All my geriatric concerns aside, I put it all together, installed Win 7 Ultimate, the required mobo drivers and away we went, only before I could do anything vaguely productive I hit a snag....and this is it.

When booting the PC, the UEFI nowhere near fits the screen, about a third of the dragon logo only is displayed (badly) and the UEFI itself is completely unusable, it looks like something out of a coder's nightmare. However, once past the UEFI the PC boots into Windows perfectly and everything runs smoothly. This outcome occurs with the GTX750TI GPU fitted and with it connected to my Sony LCD via HDMI.

However, before the GPU was fitted, the UEFI displayed perfectly when connected via HDMI from the Z87-G45's on-board graphics chip and also, when the monitor is connected from the GTX750TI GPU via a VGA lead, the UEFI displays perfectly well also.

I have scoured Google for hour after hour and whilst I've discovered multiple posts with people complaining about similar phenomena, I've yet to find any solutions except for downgrading the GPU or just having a VGA lead kicking around when I need to delve into the UEFI.